Return to Headlines

FCS Budget Department Wins Meritorious Award

FCS Budget Department

For the eighth consecutive year, the Budget Services Department of Fulton County Schools (FCS) has been honored with the Meritorious Budget Award (MBA) by the Association of School Business Officials (ASBO) International. This is the organization’s highest honor.

This award represents the commitment of the School Board and its staff to meeting the highest principles of governmental budgeting. To receive this distinguished honor, Budget Services had to satisfy nationally-recognized guidelines for effective budget presentation. It is bestowed only to school districts whose budgets have undergone a rigorous review by financial professionals and have met or exceeded the program’s stringent criteria. The award is for the 2017-2018 budget year.

By applying for the award, school business officials learn best budget presentation practices and enhance their skills in developing and presenting a school system budget.

“Our team has worked very hard to create a comprehensible budget that ensures trust with our taxpayers, parents and staff as well as maintains the stellar standards of accountability that our budget department consistently produces,” said FCS Chief Financial Officer Robert Morales.

FCS School Board President Linda Bryant added, “Considering our large and dynamic district, this is a testament to the quality of our finance professionals in the Budget Services Department. We are committed to keeping our district successful by responsibly managing the numerous budgets and carefully overseeing the school system’s financial performance.”

Photo L – r:
Front row: FCS Chief Financial Officer Robert Morales, Budget Services Director Tracy Watson, Budget Employees Jennifer Banks, Tiffany Gleaton and Dawn Pinckney, and Deputy Chief Financial Officer Marvin Dereef.

Back row: Superintendent Dr. Jeff Rose, Board Member Katie Reeves, Board Vice President Linda McCain, Budget Employee Olga Etris, Board Member Kathy Stuart, Budget Employee Ray White, Board President Linda Bryant, and Board Members Kimberly Dove and Julia Bernath.