Return to Headlines

Fulton School Board Meeting Recognitions: April 18, 2019

NOTE - The Fulton County Board of Education is proud to recognize the achievements of FCS schools, students, and staff at our monthly meetings. A portion of the remarks from a recent board meeting have been transcribed here. 

Cliff Jones, Chief Academic Officer: Good Evening President Bryant, Members of the Board, and Dr. Loe. Tonight, we are pleased to recognize outstanding students who received top honors in sports and academics. We’ll begin with the Tri-Cities High School basketball team.


Tri-Cities High Boys Basketball Team

In March, the Bulldogs made history winning their first-ever Georgia High School Athletic Association 6A Basketball Championship against Tucker High School. Senior point guard De’Marcus Johnson scored the “deep-three” winning shot with less than 6 seconds on the clock. Under the leadership of Coach Omari Forts, the team took the victory in the 30th anniversary year of the school. In addition to the players’ and coach’s superior skill, first-rate game strategy and relentless perseverance, the team has the admirable reputation of its majority being on the honor roll - a testament to the scholar-athlete profile of the team members. As Coach Forts says, “They look out for each other and mentor our younger students.” And congratulation to Titus Hunter who was named GHSA 6A Player of the Year.

Will the following students and teachers please come to the front:

  • Coach Omari Forts
  • Alex Bean, Jr.
  • Peyton Daniels,
  • Mario McIntosh
  • Titus Hunter
  • Da’Marcus Johnson
  • Demetrius Rives
  • Jackson Watson
  • Ronnie Faison
  • Eli’sha King
  • Davorian Rudolph
  • Montaque Seay
  • Lidon Pate
  • Simeon Cottle

Congratulations on this historic win! 

Tri-Cities Boy Basketball 2019



Westlake High Girls Basketball Team

Our next honorees – the Westlake High School girls’ basketball team - wasted no time and blasted through the season to take the GHSA 7A title …for the SECOND straight year! Coach Hilda Hankerson led the Lady Lions to victory by 6 points against Collins Hill High School to close a perfect, undefeated 30-0 season.

Not bad for a team that began the season with one experienced player and no seniors.

In a seemingly impossible situation, these team players came together and continued the legacy of the previous year. Additionally, players Carlyse Hooks was named to the All Region team and received an honorable mention with the Atlanta Tip-Off Club; and Raven Johnson was named “Player of the Year for 7A” by both GHSA 7A and AJC.

Will the following students and teachers come forward:

  • Coach Hilda Hankerson
  • BriannaTurnage
  • Carlyse Hooks
  • Olympia Chaney
  • Cynthia Walton
  • Jade Chavous (Shah-vus)
  • Kennedy Jackson
  • Raven Johnson
  • Ryann Woodley
  • Camerah Langston
  • Ta’Niya Latson
  • Rhyan Wilson
  • Kamiah Denson
  • Bryanna Robinson
  • Lydia Freeman

Congratulations on this stellar victory!

Westlake Girls Baskketball 2019



Valedictorians and Salutatorians

And in closing, we are so proud tonight to acknowledge the top two students from each of our Fulton County high schools – the Valedictorians and Salutatorians. These scholars from the class of 2019 have attained the two highest cumulative averages among their peers through hard work in rigorous courses.

These seniors have established themselves as models of excellence and set the standard for future students to follow. Special thanks to Balfour for their in-kind gift of the award medals.

After the meeting, we will have a special reception across the hall for our Valedictorians, Salutatorians and their parents. If you are able to stay, we invite you to join us and be celebrated.

Will the following Valedictorians and Salutatorians please come to the front: 

Zerian Hood, Valedictorian
Henry Colocho, Salutatorian

John Igieobo, Valedictorian
Amanda Izuchukwu, Salutatorian

Langston Hughes
Rayna Marie Wynn, Valedictorian
Trinity C’Mone Jackson, Salutatorian

Eddie Matthews IV, Valedictorian
Hunter Lawrence, Salutatorian

Camryn Banks, Valedictorian
Khurtasha Hutchinson, Salutatorian

Aaron Woolfolk, Valedictorian
Alexis Danielle Jacobs, Salutatorian


Congratulations on this amazing achievement!

Valedictorians 2019

Salutatorians 2019  

This concludes our recognitions.